A Change Of Philosophy

THERE IS  A VERY SERIOUS DISCUSSION GOING ON in reference to landscape photography in another blog that I participate in.    Essentially, the discussion started with the opinion of a poster who is not much of a fan of landscapes and finds that most of the time, there are more ehs than oohs.

A couple of years ago, I might have vehemently disagreed.  After all, it was a landscape photograph that really set me on the path that led to where I am now.    In the past few years, I have also found that no matter where I am and what I am doing, I also try to shoot a landscape.    The truth is that there is a lot of set up and waiting, and more waiting, and more set up and….well you get it.   Landscapes started to become a little boring to me so I had to rethink the process.    Here’s what I came up with.

  1. No matter how cool something looked to the eye, if I didn’t like what I saw in the view finder, it didn’t get shot.
  2. I decreased the size of the landscape to something that covers 20 to 30 feet as opposed to 20 to 30 miles.  After all, I don’t remember hearing that there was an upper or lower limit and how wide a landscape should be.
  3. I started looking at landscape as a verb instead of a noun. My goal became to improve the aesthetic appearance of land. A lofty goal maybe, but new outlook equals new motivation.

I guess what I’m really trying to say is that occasionally, doing the same old thing is going to get old.  One way out of the rut is to shift how you think about it.   The rest seems to shift right along with it.

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers