Another Loss To Progress

I WOULD LIKE TO INTRODUCE YOU TO THE DOVER BRIDGE.   This bridge, built in 1937, spans the Union Pacific Railroad Tracks as Highway 2 crosses over them at Dover, Idaho.   A wonderful piece of history that we don’t often get to see  anymore; a landmark that is also fixing to go the way of the Dodo.

In 2008, the Dover Bridge was listed in a Popular Mechanics’ article entitled “Top 10 Pieces of U.S. Infrastructure We Must Fix Now” joining such landmarks as The Brooklyn Bridge, The New Orleans Canal Lock and Seattle’s Alaskan Way Viaduct.   On a scale of 1 to 100, the Dover Bridge was given a sufficiency rating of 2.  This of course, led to the planning and building of a new bridge which is now, four years later, finally scheduled for completion in July of this year.

The reason for this post is that this is another piece of Americana which is going to soon vanish from our sight and thus our memories.   I have captured scenes like this before quite by accident.  This time I knew it was coming.   As part of the construction project, the contractor will be disassembling the old bridge and taking it down.

I feel fortunate that I found the time to get some images of this bridge and more so that I get to preserve it forever and share it with you, my readers!

10 responses

  1. I shared your post with a friend who loves bridges and railroads. Good that you were able to capture the images before it is lost.

    May 30, 2012 at 3:40 AM

    • Thanks Ruth. It was good. I would have been a little upset with myself for not making the time to preserve this. Thanks so much for the visit and comment.

      May 31, 2012 at 3:43 AM

  2. Sometimes change is hard. Terrific images I love the perspective and vanishing point of the first shot

    May 30, 2012 at 8:31 AM

    • Change is inevitable but sometimes, I long for the simpler days of the past! Thanks for your comments. I initially didn’t think that one was going to turn out so great but it is also one of my favorites.

      May 31, 2012 at 3:44 AM

  3. What an awesome, awesome series. You know how much we love history and heritage… I have to admit, it’s hard to look at these images knowing that these may be the last ones of it. Thank goodness you were prepared and there to document it!!

    May 30, 2012 at 11:43 AM

    • Thanks my friend. I knew that you would appreciate this one. I am also glad that I was able to get some shots in before it’s gone. Thanks for the visit and comment. Your support is always such an encouragement

      May 31, 2012 at 3:46 AM

      • I was driving by a place today that we photographed a few months back. Today, it’s an empty lot. Work like this is so very important Mike, and I love the way you do it.

        June 1, 2012 at 2:23 PM

  4. Those are nice shots. Nothing is forever really, but still, sad to see some things go.

    May 30, 2012 at 3:10 PM

    • Thanks Aaron. In the past year, “nothing is forever” has really hit me squarely in the forehead so this kind of capture holds a special appeal for me when I can get it in.

      May 31, 2012 at 3:47 AM

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Today | Mike Victorino Photography

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers