Another One Of Those Question Images

HERE’S AN IMAGE I SHOT DURING THE 2011 Bonner County Rodeo last August.  I will tell you that I know exactly why I shot this image and why I shot it the way I did.  the biggest decision I had to make about this image was whether or not to classify it as Landscapes with Objects, Animals or both.   That being said, the purpose of this post is to solicit feedback and foster discussion.    Would you have placed your focus in a different place in the frame and if so; why?

5 responses

  1. Mike, this is my disclaimer: I am a horse trainer. I take all my photos with my phone. I am not like you.
    Having said that, I love a good fence. I spend a fair amount of my time repairing fence. I love this fence. Asthetics for me are all about horses, I never see them as anything but beautiful and in focus. But I work with riders who get their first horse at 40 or 50 and have carried the dream of their childhoods so long…Horses come into focus at last. So in the end, I say to you…. Good Question!

    April 18, 2012 at 5:55 AM

  2. I would of done the same shot, focus on the fence! Actualy I would of done 2 different ones a clear shot of the horses and then a clear shot of the fence with the horses out of focus but the fence would of been my favorite just because I love texture and fences can be a great subject to photograph.

    April 18, 2012 at 7:34 AM

  3. doephotog

    Hmm, well depending on what lens you were using and the focal length I might have stopped down a bit and focused into the fence a bit more. Prob would have converted it to mono also as this image has very strong lines.

    April 18, 2012 at 8:55 AM

  4. I love the POV on this but I agree with the comment above I think I would have shot it two ways, one with the horses in focus and with the fence. I think my personal preference would have been to have the foreground fence slightly out of focus to lead the eye to the horses in focus.

    April 18, 2012 at 12:54 PM

  5. Thanks all for your comments. I love hearing your ideas and allowing for you to discover your “whys”.

    I took this shot the way I did because I was at a Rodeo shooting. In two days, I shot over 1000 images of people and animals. There were a few times (and they were very short) in between events to explore and in this case, I wanted to capture something from the rodeo that is ever-present, so important yet is obscure and often not even paid attention to. So the fence became the priority in this image and the landspace and horses became secondary.

    This year should prove interesting since I know the capabilities of my equipment better, I am shooting in RAW as opposed to (ahem) JPG and my persective has changed as well as my capabilities growing.

    April 19, 2012 at 12:43 AM

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

