A Season Later

I FINALLY GOT THE MOTIVATION TODAY TO GET UP off of my ass and take my camera off the shelf and out into the woods.   A lot of the areas that I want to go shoot this year are still pretty much inaccessible because of snow so I paid a little visit to the Idaho Wildlife refuge at Trout Creek.  You may remember that I shot some images there last October.   The differences were that the area is a little more torn up right now because of the recent flooding, there’s not as much color (Spring isn’t quite here yet) AND most of all, I had the opportunity to use my new Variable Neutral Density Filter (VND) so the images that I had to go out first thing in the morning for last year, I shot at mid-day this year.

So here’s a look at the difference between October and March; from gentle pre-fall wonder to torrential ravage caused by run off.   What I have found is that both are uniquely beautiful.

Morning Stillnes - October 16, 2011

Not So Still Anymore - March 27, 2012

Under The Bridge - October 16, 2011

Under The Bridge (Only Faster) - March 27, 2012

10 responses

  1. Great shots Mike. Love the effect of the ND filter.

    March 27, 2012 at 7:24 PM

  2. awesome shots!!!!

    March 27, 2012 at 8:11 PM

  3. Very interesting to see the comparisons.

    March 27, 2012 at 9:26 PM

  4. timmcmurdo

    I’m with Renee. Really fun to see these side by side. You have to be pretty happy with the ND filter. Nice job!

    March 28, 2012 at 1:31 AM

  5. Excellent photo series, Mike. Fun to see the contrast between seasons.

    March 28, 2012 at 5:57 AM

  6. Thanks all. Being the first time out with the new filter, it was a bit of a challenge. Fortunately for me, I had all day and this is one of my favorite spots to go escape to. In the end though, it was a total blast and I learned a few things that I had not thought of before!

    March 28, 2012 at 9:24 PM

  7. Pingback: Spring Is Here | Mike Victorino Photography

  8. Pingback: The Calm (?) Before The Storm | Mike Victorino Photography

  9. Nice shots Mike! Amazing how different a place can look depending on the season.

    March 31, 2012 at 2:36 PM

    • Thanks Curt. It is really amazing. I think that the next time, I’m going to shoot the same spot in mid summer during the afternoon golden hour. Should prove interesting

      March 31, 2012 at 3:30 PM

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

