Winter Doldrums

THE OTHER DAY, I WAS COMPLETELY JACKED UP!   After spending the morning in court, I came outside to see the sun shining brightly and I was like, “YES!  I get to go out and shoot some today.”  That lasted about twenty minutes because in the time it took me to get home, get changed into my jeans and sneakers and get back out the door, the sunshine had turned into black skies and a boat load of sleet all coming down at once.   I would not be dissuaded however and off I went out to discover my dark, wet, icy world.   Fortunately by the time I got to where I wanted to go the sleet had stopped.  However, the conditions were not so favorable.  Then I remembered about this category that I wanted to start and today was the perfect day for it.

I really felt this image when I saw it.  It is me – turned upside down and face down in the sand; the only evidence of movement being the wrinkles left when adjusting my position.  I lie here waiting for the warmth and glow of the sun to return knowing that on that day; I will again be useful and everything is going to be a little bit brighter and an awful lot warmer.

In the mean time, I attempt to find beauty in the darkness….

3 responses

  1. Rob

    We lie and wait, dormant until the summer season. That is what I am thinking while viewing your image here. Anticipation for warmer weather.

    Oh the contrasts of thinking too much. Sometimes I go out shooting in bright daylight only to curse the harsh light that creates strong harsh light and deep dark shadows. The wishing for overcast days that create nice soft light. Then on those cloudy days I wish for more brighter light.

    February 24, 2012 at 7:16 AM

    • I have a habit of going out and shooting in the harsh mid day sun. Overall, I kind of like it. Now if there was just some sun!

      February 24, 2012 at 4:58 PM

  2. Pingback: My Blog is in the Doldrums « Misadventures In La Mosquitia

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

