Experimenting Again

TODAY, I FINALLY DECIDED TO GET OFF MY REAR and go shoot.  It’s been at least  a week (or more) and I was getting the itch.  I also decided that it was time to do some shooting in RAW.   I like the ability to be able to go back and make minor adjustments (especially white balance) by myself as opposed to what the camera thinks is best.   It was interesting to say the least.   Now all I need is some decent software to be able to process RAW images.  I appreciate Canon’s efforts with the software included in the camera but I think that in comparison, it falls a bit short.   I’ll be looking at PSE10 and Lightrom (or both) as possible replacements for my PSE7.

Here’s an image I shot today that I had a little fun processing.   This was great practice because the shooting conditions around mid-day today sucked pretty bad.  That wasn’t all though.  I decided that under such harsh conditions that it would be a really good idea to shoot a water reflection while pretty much facing directly into the sun.

I can’t wait ’til spring!

2 responses

  1. Rob

    Nicely done! I too need to get out more and am anxious for spring. I wish I was along this creek.

    I use Lightroom 3 and highly recomend LR, I also use PSE8. I do 80% of my editing in Lightroom3. Right now, Lightroom 3 is on sale for $139 from Adorama. Lightroom 4 should be out sometime this year for around $300 give or take. If you go the Lightroom route, I suggest Scott Kelby’s book Lightroom 3 for how to use the tools.

    February 15, 2012 at 7:54 AM

  2. @Rob. When you say that you wished you were along this creek, it reminds me of how much I take for granted about the area in which I live and how my “vision” has changed since I started photographing. I’ll bet I’ve passed over this creek a thousand times and never saw it like I did the day I shot this.

    Thanks for the tips on LR. I think that at least by the end of the year, I will own both that and PSE10. I really don’t find it necessary to upgrade to the full blown CS5. After all, what the program won’t do, there is probably a plug in for.

    February 15, 2012 at 6:56 PM

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

