Curiosity Killed The Cat

*UPDATE* I did a little bit of tweaking and came up with something that I find to be more usable, at least from my point of view. There is something to be said for the ability to make changes to the style sheet. This is what I did:

  • Decrease sidebar size from 300px to 250px
  • Decreased the left sidebar margin from 40px to 20px
  • Set the Featured image to 680px from 600px (Wider)
  • Set the primary post area to 680px from 600px
  • Decreased the size of In Other News from 190px to 150px

What did all of this do for me?   All of this was simply to widen out the Latest Post from 380px to 500px; and in my mind, that’s a huge improvement.   I also tried to widen out the entire format from 980px to 1024px but the CSS would not allow me to make the necessary changes to set the default size of the header image to 1024.  Oh well, I guess I can sacrifice 44px.  😀

_______________________________________________________

facebook engancha

Image via Wikipedia

It’s been a couple of days now and as I’m sure my regular readership has found, things have changed a bit around here.   WordPress came out with a new free theme last week from Design Disease called Splendio.  After a little bit of tweaking to make it work for me, it is now up and running.    There are a couple of things that I really like about this theme.   The first is the Featured Post Slider which appears at the top of the page.  With this feature, all I need to is make a post “sticky” and presto; I now can pick out a different subject every other week or so to feature.  Just below that is the most current post in it’s entirety, the only actual post to show on the home page.   Since my format before was to have only one post on the front page anyway, this isn’t much of  a change as far as posting.   I do wish that it could be a little bit wider though.  Next to the current post is a column labeled “In Other News”.   This is a great feature that displays your ten most recent posts.

I also like that there is six widget areas; five of which are in the footer.   There is plenty of room for personalization in the widget areas.  Of course, I had to remove  a few of my widgets like SEARCH, RECENT POSTS and RSS FEEDS because that content was now included in the blog format.   At the top of the page to the right of the Blog Title is now a built in search tool and to the bottom of that search box is an area where the theme includes buttons for RSS feeds, Twitter and Facebook.    Imagine my surprise to find that there was actually room for redundancy in my life.   I kept the Facebook and Twitter widgets active!

Anyhow, I thought I might solicit a little bit of feedback from my readership, at least those of you who have seen what the blog appearance was before this.   ‘

What do you think?

2 responses

  1. Pingback: » Free WordPress Premium Theme -IsoTherm News Private Label Rights|Master Resell Rights Internet

  2. Pingback: » Free WordPress Theme Product Review -Skeptical Private Label Rights|Master Resell Rights Store

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

