Antiques

I have been tossing around the idea of purchasing a Kindle lately.  It would certainly free up some space in my ever shrinking bubble and I’m certain that the library would love to have a donation of a lot of the books that I have to add to their collection.  Truth to tell, all they do anymore is sit around and collect dust.  There are a few that I don’t mind taking a dust rag to though.   I love antiques; especially antique books and I might have mentioned that before.    There is something about how an antique book manages to trigger the senses; the feel, the smell, the look – all adding to fire up the imagination and give that extra bit of life to the story.   There is nothing like it.

6 responses

  1. I totally agree with you about the smell and feel of the antique book. I don’t have a kindle or nook yet. Check out my post and poem about my bookshelf when you get a chance.http://rutheh.com/2010/05/30/my-bookshelf/

    January 26, 2012 at 3:41 AM

    • I read and posted Ruth. Great image and fabulous sentiments to go with it!

      January 26, 2012 at 10:40 PM

  2. Rob

    I remain conflicted about an electronic book or not. First off, a book is easy reference. You can simply go back to the shelf and grab it. Where do I go for reference electronically? Secondly, a lot of “e” books have problems with diagrams, tables, photos, etc. that go along with the text. The images can be placed in areas unrelated to the text. But What is not to enjoy in an electronic gadget? I know I would use an e-reader often. Just not sure which one would suit my needs. We have the Kindle and the Nook…and others I am sure. Then we have the iPad and a host of tablets. Which one works best as an e-reader and internet surfer? I remain quite confused.

    January 26, 2012 at 7:36 AM

    • This is certainly something that before now I hadn’t even considered. It’s still in the toss around for awhile stage so who knows what will happen. What I am conflicted about is what’s going to happen when the books that I do have become antiques themselves? I just don’t know….

      January 26, 2012 at 10:43 PM

  3. Keep your old ones man. Love books and am an Avid reader also. (awesome shot BTW)

    The Kindle is ok as a reader, better as a media device though. but honestly I do really like reading books on my iPad. It’s large enough almost feel like you’re reading a hard cover.

    January 26, 2012 at 7:57 AM

    • Aaron. Thanks for the visit and your comments. I am torn still as to whether or not I want to go that route. I love the feel of a book in my hand. Like I told Rob, what I’m tossing around in my mind is “what happens when the books I have are antiques and I no longer have them?” It’s not something that I am going to undertake lightly.

      January 26, 2012 at 10:46 PM

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

