I’ll Take Mine On The Rocks

Last week when I posted this image, I also posted it at my Facebook Page.  A comment from a dear old friend said this:

“Loved the way the centre rock looks like it has been photo shopped in! It’s so stark in contrast to the water!!!!”

It’s not Photo Shopped.  Really!    This creek was full of rocks that had been coated with ice and they just glimmered as they reflected the various ways the light hit them and contrasted the dark shallows and white rapids that surrounded them.   The only thing that kept me from staying there longer was the 15 degree weather and the batteries that it was eating up!

I went home that day and had a nice drink…..on the rocks of course!

10 responses

  1. I’ve had a lot of fun and produced some nice images using PS. However, nothing is ever as good as taking the real scene and capturing it just right.

    I am really looking forward to seeing what you come up with when you start using your new ND filter.

    January 21, 2012 at 5:00 AM

    • Hi Tim. Thanks for the comment. Here’s my feeling on this. With the ND filter, I am going to be able to capture the same type of long exposure effects; the difference will be that I will no longer have to seek out the darker areas and I will no longer have to wait til the sun is gone or go before the sun comes up. From what I have seen, the filters also produce some pretty rich colors and saturation; which I like.

      Having the ability to go at different times of the day is also going to give me the opportunity to seek out and find different lighting. I am also looking forward to the filters!

      As far as PS is concerned. I’m not really much of a purist to begin with. My goal is to try and recreate what it is that I saw when I shot the image so I have no issue with some manipulation.

      January 21, 2012 at 10:26 AM

  2. imashwin

    Beautiful Photo.. Exquisite location..

    January 21, 2012 at 11:04 PM

    • Thank you for your kindness, visit and comments. I do love it there…or for that matter, anywhere else where there is little light, lots of trees and running water.

      January 23, 2012 at 7:03 PM

  3. Very cool man. Always nice when you can get it just right in camera.

    January 23, 2012 at 7:42 AM

    • Or at least as close as you can! 😉

      January 23, 2012 at 7:04 PM

  4. I love this shot, Mike! Man, that rock really does stand out!

    January 24, 2012 at 11:29 AM

    • I’m lovin’ the water shoots. Can’t wait for my filters. Thanks for your kind words and encouragement Toad!

      January 25, 2012 at 9:18 PM

  5. Pingback: The Coolest Photography Links Of The Week « « Gregory DeeseGregory Deese

  6. Pingback: The Crossing « Mike Victorino Photography ~ The Blog

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

