Seriously ~ Get Out And Live

IT’S BEEN FIVE DAYS BETWEEN POSTS HERE and in all honesty, it’s amazing to me that it wasn’t more than that.  Work has had me tied up this past week with a completely bizarre schedule and I can say with some level of expertise that when a six day schedule filled with varying hours and quick turn-arounds are on the menu, the motivation is not, shall we say high, to do much more than work (if you can call it that) and sleep (if you can call it that).    However, it was tolerable for two very important reasons.

The first is that I am now in single digit years before I can retire.  Even more importantly is that 2011, especially December, allowed me the opportunity to take a very close look at what is important to me.  I can tell you for a fact that work is not on the short list.

Today’s photograph is from a trip to Yellowstone National Park last October and speaks to me of how small we really are and even more so, how very important it is to go out and actually live.  I’ll post a wide angle here in a couple of days so you can see exactly how immense this example really is.

Peace

7 responses

  1. One does feel small in a setting like this. Wonderful capture Mike.

    January 10, 2012 at 9:54 PM

    • Mike

      Thanks Edith. I feel very fortunate sometimes to be in the right place and at the right time. I never even knew the bird was there until I downloaded this one! 😀

      January 11, 2012 at 10:10 PM

  2. Don’t you wish that we could understand these life lessons when we are younger? I hope that your photography continues to be high on your list of priorities. The rest of us would suffer if it wasn’t.

    January 11, 2012 at 12:26 AM

    • Mike

      Thanks Tim. I’m certain that when it comes down to it, photography is NOT on the chopping block. I remember when I was in my 20’s and stationed at Castle Air Force Base in Merced, California, my getaway was Yosemite National Park. I used to sit for hours on end at the top of Glacier Point overlooking the valley and doing nothing for hours except listening to the sound of the wind blowing. Being out in nature shooting photos is as close as I have come to that level of peace

      Now that I have talked about this, I have a sneaking suspicion that might be my vacation destination of choice this year. A tent, a backpack, a camera bag and a week and a half of nothing to do except explore. Sounds like heaven!

      January 11, 2012 at 10:16 PM

  3. I’ve been really struggling, trying to find time to shoot and post along with everyone else lately, so your thoughts here today are absolutely profound for me, Mike. Best wishes on your endeavors there and I am sure I speak for everyone when I say we look forward to seeing more of your work when you have a chance.

    January 12, 2012 at 12:19 PM

    • Mike

      Me too Toad. Me too!

      January 14, 2012 at 6:33 PM

  4. Pingback: As Promised « Mike Victorino Photography ~ The Blog

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

