A New Category Is Born

IN THE COMMENTS SECTION FROM another post, my friend Tom Dinning brought up a very important point to me as I was ranting about shooting crap on days when I was not really in the mood to shoot.  He said,

“Don’t assume the photos you take when in a less than content mood or health are of any less value than those taken when you feel good. You’re no longer taking pictures; you’re making photographs. Doing that requires a different mindset that looking for the nice things in life. You can show us a bit of anger and disappointment and frustration from time to time”

Tom’s a pretty wise bloke and a gifted photographer and teacher.  If you haven’t taken the time to visit him, you can here.  With his thoughts though, a new category is born; one that I am going to call “DRAB”.  I may or may not ever post anything in it on my site but it’s fun to have it there to play with.

This year has seen the loss of three people who I knew and cared for.  Most recently, a long time friend who was a mentor and quite honestly, a hero, has passed on to the next world.   This death hit me kind of hard; harder by far than the other two.   When I went to school back in 1992 to become a Military Training Instructor, Rick was my instructor for that course.   After I was no longer his student and he my instructor, he became my friend, my example and my “go to”.   I can tell you with a great amount of certainty that this world is a lesser place without him.

So the first image in the DRAB category is a reflection of my mood today; bland, dark and grey.  It also comes with a message.   Stop for a second and see the the light.  Hang on to it tightly because right there in the background, there is a huge black cloud doing nothing but hanging around waiting for you to drop your guard.

Embrace life folks….it’s way too short!!

7 responses

  1. Mike I am so sorry for your loss. You know I can relate to that…

    December 30, 2011 at 2:45 AM

    • Thanks Heather. Yes, I know that you can totally relate…. 😦 I hope 2012 goes better for both of us!

      December 31, 2011 at 10:52 AM

  2. Tom dinning

    My old man would say ” don’t miss me when I’m gone. Talk to me while I’m here”. Seems like you might have done that, Mike.
    I’m looking forward to Drab. Who was it that said they wanted to photograph the ordinary in an extraordinary way? The difference is mood.

    December 30, 2011 at 4:47 AM

    • Tom. It’s laughable but now I think that this is a subject that I am going to want to explore more fully. Should prove interesting.

      December 31, 2011 at 10:53 AM

  3. Sorry for your losses. Drab is a cool new category. Wishing you a good 2012

    December 30, 2011 at 6:18 AM

    • Thanks Ruth. Happy New Year to you and to yours!

      December 31, 2011 at 10:53 AM

  4. Pingback: Winter Doldrums | Mike Victorino Photography

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

