City Scapes ~ Part 6

SINCE I HAVE RECENTLY BEEN DOING A LOT OF CITY SCAPES, I have gone out into my home town of Sandpoint, Idaho and attempted to capture some views that until now have eluded me.   The reason for this was that I had gone out about a month ago on a photo assignment to capture some images of my hometown but on that day, I didn’t feel good and I just was not motivated to shoot.   Interestingly enough, the images that I did capture were a direct reflection of my mood; uninteresting, unmotivated and quite honestly, a little sick.  So a couple of weeks ago, I changed my outlook and headed out the door to try again.

Funny thing is that I have shot these places many times before and more often than not, the images end up being archived and never looked at again.   They were certainly nothing to write home about and even less deserving of being included in any portfolio. (Unless the recycle bin can be counted as a portfolio)   Like I said though, I changed my outlook.  In doing so, I started to see a few things and a few angles that had been forever right out in the open and waiting for me to find.    Seems as though attitude is a large player in this game.

….was blind but now I see

Here are the previous five images in this category
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 5

7 responses

  1. Definitely the best of the entries ! New view and new ‘tude work quite well !

    December 26, 2011 at 2:58 PM

    • Thanks Renee. I really liked the way this one came out.

      December 29, 2011 at 10:10 PM

  2. Tom dinning

    Your urban landscapes give us a taste of what you see on your walks. Don’t assume the photos you take when in a less than content mood or health are of any less value than those taken when you feel good. You’re no longer taking pictures; you’re making photographs. Doing that requires a different mindset that looking for the nice things in life. You can show us a it of anger and disappointment and frustration from time to time. You do that quite nicely with the current images. Gives bit of the other Mikeweknow so well. Theone that can kick arse!

    December 26, 2011 at 10:06 PM

    • I never really thought of it in that way Tom. I suppose that would be a different aspect of what and how I am shooting. I think that I might have to create a folder called “DRAB” for my moody shots!!

      December 29, 2011 at 10:12 PM

  3. Something about these mono street light shots I just love. 🙂

    December 28, 2011 at 4:36 PM

    • Thanks Aaron

      December 29, 2011 at 10:10 PM

  4. Pingback: A New Category Is Born « Mike Victorino Photography ~ The Blog

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

