Winding Down The Year

THINGS HAVE SLOWED DOWN HERE in the past few days and I expect that they probably will stay that way; at least until after the new year.   So until then, I’ll probably post when I can but I’m not going to put any pressure on myself to post.  It’ll be comfort level posting for a couple weeks!  😀

On a side note, I was out doing some final Christmas shopping today and as I often do when I see one, I went into an antique store.  I have an affinity toward antiques, especially books and today I definitely hit a home run.   I found four keepers today:

  • A 1970 printing of Tolstoy‘s “War and Peace”
  • A 1955 printing of “Andersonville” by MacKinlay Kantor.  This book is a Pulitzer Prize winning fictional story based in part on accounts of how Andersonville, a Civil War prisoner of war camp was actually built, administrated and lived.   (Andersonville is located in  the south western portion of Georgia and is home to the National Prisoner of War Museum)
  • A 1924 printing of “A Passage To India” by E.M. Forster
  • A 1930 printing of “All Quiet On The Western Front” by Erich Maria Remarque

Today’s photograph is of my copy of “All Quiet On The Western Front”.  The shadow (as much as I would like to claim responsibility) is accidental but added so much to the feel of the shot, it became an instant keeper.

I may or may not be posting in the next couple of weeks but I wanted to let all my readers know that I wish you all un Feliz Navidad y Prospero Año Nuevo.

11 responses

  1. mo

    You rock, Mike! Love the look of your page too.

    December 20, 2011 at 7:30 AM

    • Mike

      Thanks Mo! I appreciate the visit, the support and mostly your friendship!

      December 21, 2011 at 2:40 PM

  2. That shadow and gentle lighting here… exquisite, my friend! WOW! In case our paths don’t meet again before Christmas, have a great time my friend!

    December 20, 2011 at 9:26 AM

    • Mike

      Want to know something?. I went back and thought about this shot and I remembered that the shadow in this image is there because I wasn’t paying attention and my lanyard was hanging down in front of the flash. How funny is that?

      I’ll have to remember that as a tool for creating shadow!

      December 21, 2011 at 2:43 PM

  3. Great shot Mike. The shadow is perfect whether you meant to capture it or not. Well done. Hope you had a great holiday.

    December 25, 2011 at 9:26 PM

    • Mike

      Thanks Edith. I hope that you had a fantastic Christmas and that it was all you hoped for.

      December 25, 2011 at 9:44 PM

  4. Happy accidents can make some of the best images! Love the subtle lighting and B/W, they combine to give a nice vintage feel to the image.

    December 29, 2011 at 11:21 PM

    • Mike

      Curt. Thanks for the visit and your comments. Sorry it’s taken me so long to reply. I’m sure the look on my face was priceless when I looked up and saw this book on the shelf! More so when I saw what they were charging for it…….(not very much).

      December 31, 2011 at 10:47 AM

  5. Pingback: Photography Links That Will Make Sure You Get Nothing Else Done Today « « Gregory DeeseGregory Deese

  6. Pingback: Antiques « Mike Victorino Photography ~ The Blog

  7. Pingback: Photography Links That Will Make Sure You Get Nothing Else Done Today

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

