Encroaching

Last month, I just had to get away from here for even a few days to just relax and forget about the rat race.   I found myself in Yellowstone National Park and having never been there before, I was like a kid in a candy store.    Imagine being a new photographer who absolutely loves shooting landscapes and wildlife and then place yourself smack dab in the middle of 3,472 square miles of photographic opportunity.   The weather wasn’t totally cooperative but that certainly didn’t stop me at all; or for that matter even slow me down.   What a great few days it was…..and I didn’t even begin to scratch the surface.     Although for three days, I never saw a moose or a bear, there was an abundance of elk, bison and other wildlife to choose from.    I even got to witness a coyote kill.  Of course, I didn’t bother to capture it.  My largest lens wasn’t large enough to get in on the action and although sometimes a little more brave (daring; stupid) than others, I thought it better not to try and get close enough for a capture.  Animals are kind of touchy that way.

For example, here’s a guy who was not very happy with how close I was getting to him!

Handsome isn’t he?

12 responses

  1. Faaan tastic shot !

    November 3, 2011 at 9:32 PM

  2. Looks like you got pretty close to him. Wow.

    November 4, 2011 at 12:22 AM

  3. Mike, I have not been to Yellowstone as an adult and I am very jealous. This elk is impressive and I am looking forward to seeing more images of your trip. What lens did you use and how far away from this beast were you?

    November 4, 2011 at 2:32 AM

    • I was using a 55-250 telephoto on this one. I’m just guessing but probably somewhere in mid range. I was about 15 to 20 yards away??

      November 5, 2011 at 10:40 AM

  4. Wow! Nice shot!

    November 4, 2011 at 7:55 AM

  5. Rob

    Wow, awesome image, he sure is handsome!

    November 4, 2011 at 8:25 AM

  6. Thank you all for your visits and positive feedback!!

    November 5, 2011 at 10:42 AM

  7. WOWSERS there Mike, what a great shot! Love the perspective and framing you used here, you really brought all the grumpy out of this scene and to our monitors for all to enjoy!

    November 7, 2011 at 1:14 PM

  8. Thanks Toad. Part of the beauty of shooting at Yellowstone is that the animals, although still a danger, are fairly used to humans sticking the big black boxes with long cylinder thingies in their faces. It’s still certainly advisable to not get too close to them. Even friendly elk horns hurt!!

    November 7, 2011 at 10:01 PM

  9. Gorgeous image Mike. Well done.

    November 10, 2011 at 11:02 PM

    • Thank you sir! For a while there, I thought I wasn’t going to get it (for reasons that there is not bandwidth enough to discuss) but I got it!!

      November 10, 2011 at 11:41 PM

  10. Pingback: Another Year Gone By « Mike Victorino Photography ~ The Blog

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

