Dodging (Snow) and Burning (Wood)

THIS PAST WEEK HAS BEEN SOMEWHAT OF A WHIRL-WIND.   I’m not certain what happened or why, but my on-line presence has almost been nil.   I only posted here twice in the past week and everywhere else, I have not really visited at all;  except for some hit and run action over at Light Stalking.

A lot of what I have been doing (very slowly) most recently is updating all of my portfolios.  I am being very self-critical and I when I am done, only those that I consider to be the best will be posted anywhere on line.   So you might find that there will be some images that are disappearing from my sites and that is okay.   On the positive side, in my hiatus from the internet, I have managed to find the time to finish up some processing on about seven days worth of shoots that I have been sitting on since the middle of October.

….and speaking of processing.

I have wanted for some time to learn the process of dodging and burning and put it into practice.    Last week,  Aloha Lavina put out a tutorial on a very simple way in which to dodge and burn without destroying any pixels from the original.   If this is a process that you are interested in learning (and you should be), I urge you to take a look at the video.    I watched it, copied it and then adapted it to my own style and I can tell you that the quality of my post-processing has (in my opinion) increased exponentially.    I am very excited about this and hopefully, you will be able to see the difference.

For today, with temperatures in the low 20’s and snow looming on the horizon, I thought I would put up an image that I posted at Light Stalking for the weekly photo challenge.     It is one of my favorite times of year.

5 responses

  1. that is some intense autumn color!

    November 1, 2011 at 11:20 PM

  2. Wonderful shot Mike !

    November 2, 2011 at 12:18 AM

  3. Love the color and nice placement of the trees in the frame.

    November 2, 2011 at 10:55 AM

  4. Wonderful shot Mike.

    November 3, 2011 at 9:01 PM

  5. Thanks for you wonderful feedback everyone! It was a treat to come in here tonight and see such positive comments on a shot that I really love!

    November 3, 2011 at 9:08 PM

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

