Always Try and Find The Positive

Today, I went on a little excursion through the Wildlife Management Lands at Trout Creek.  I found the most amazing little tributary that fed the Pack River and the lighting was absolutely gorgeous.  I set up my camera and I took about 20 different long exposure shots from different angles and from what I could see in the camera monitor (we all know how accurate that is), it was looking very good.    Of course, that was until I looked down at my lens and saw that I had forgotten to turn of the Image Stabilization. 😦    I was hoping for the best anyway.

For those of you that don’t know this, if your gear is equipped with image stabilization, you must turn it off in order to take long exposures.   The reason for this is that normally, long exposures are taken with the camera mounted on a tripod for stability.  If the image stabilization is active when the camera is already stable, the equipment will by itself create instability in order to correct it.   Think of image stabilization as a government employee;  one that will create a problem where none exists in order to justify its own existence.  When I got home, I downloaded my shots into the computer only to find that most of the long exposures were out of focus.  What’s worse is that I may not be able to get back to that same spot again for some time.  Crap!   Lesson learned.

The good news is that today, all of my bad habits created a situation whereby I was again, at the right place and time.   I was shooting some landscapes on the Pack River and while I was there, a mama and baby moose popped out of woods not 50 yards away from me for a little swim.  I wasn’t even ready for that but I got lucky!

The day wasn’t a total loss after all.

 

12 responses

  1. What a marvelous beast emerging from the water! Nice capture

    October 15, 2011 at 6:49 PM

    • Mike

      She was indeed gorgeous Ruth. I feel pretty fortunate.

      October 15, 2011 at 10:12 PM

  2. So cool !!! Some guys got all the luck ! Glad for you, Mike !

    October 15, 2011 at 9:17 PM

    • Mike

      LOL. We’ve had this conversation. What was very fortunate was that I was down wind and she didn’t even know I was there until she was already in the water. Once she saw me, it was “later dude!”

      October 15, 2011 at 10:14 PM

  3. perfect timing, really cool 🙂

    October 16, 2011 at 12:10 AM

    • Mike

      Thanks Jani. And thank you for the visit. Hope to see you again!

      October 16, 2011 at 9:30 AM

  4. I’m not sure I could have gotten any pictures at all while I was running away. 🙂

    October 16, 2011 at 3:05 AM

    • Mike

      LOL Tim. You really need to come out here and go wildlife shooting with me. It is fun, exciting, gets you into really cool places and is filled with adrenaline. I haven’t yet posted a couple shots I got of an elk recently but I will say that he was none to happy to have me so close.

      October 16, 2011 at 9:31 AM

      • Exciting….adrenaline…..I’m thinkin’ in a shark cage, in the ocean, at feeding time !!!

        October 16, 2011 at 1:59 PM

    • Mike

      Whoa Renee! I’m totally there. When do we leave??

      October 16, 2011 at 2:08 PM

  5. Pingback: Went Back And Got It | Mike Victorino Photography

  6. Pingback: Another Year Gone By « Mike Victorino Photography ~ The Blog

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

