Sign Of The Times

One of my great friends often takes images of landmarks that are very soon, not going to be landmarks anymore.  I can only guess as to his motivation for this.  I can tell you that there are a lot of times that I will drive through an area that has, in the last ten years, made such a drastic change, it’s hard to remember what it used to look like.   Of course, now I think to myself that I wish I had taken pictures of it back then.  If only.

Fortunately, I did manage to take the time last spring to get some images of a great red barn located in the Cocolalla Flats on Highway 95.    At the time I was taking those shots, this barn  was nothing more to me than a great subject for testing out some theories and experimenting with some new ideas.  (Well new to me anyway).  It was a great model!  Little did I know how important those images would become to me.

Just last week, I was heading to the airport in Spokane, Washington and as I drove by this location that I had seen a thousand times, I could no longer take it for granted.   For where once stood a symbol of hard work and dedication; a symbol of a time when things were a little slower paced and people were a little friendlier, now lay a pile of wood waiting to be burned.   In the smoke and ash of this historic location will be placed who knows what?  Only time will tell.

At least I have a record of what it once was!

10 responses

  1. You’re speaking directly to our passion here, Mike! As you know, we love to photograph things just like this and this is one of the reasons why. Landscapes change, sometimes in a manner of minutes, and all we have left to remember all this is our lasting photography. What a great set of images here, my friend, I was captivated and loved each and every one.

    October 13, 2011 at 1:21 PM

    • Thank you my friend. I was really blown away when I drove by and saw this pile of wood on the ground! What great timing that I was planning this post even as we were having the same conversation at your blog. I appreciate your visits, your comments and your support. Thank you

      October 13, 2011 at 1:31 PM

      • You bet Mike, it’s all my pleasure, and the same to you in return my friend!

        October 13, 2011 at 2:00 PM

  2. So sad….often times this is the very thing which drives me to document what I see for tomorrow, it may be gone.

    October 13, 2011 at 1:43 PM

    • I may have to take a trip back to the other side of Butte Montana where there is an old house off the side of the Highway. I just wasn’t energetic enough to stop for it. 😦

      October 13, 2011 at 1:50 PM

  3. These things always make me think about the story behind it and the people. What led to all of this. Nice shots.

    October 14, 2011 at 8:04 AM

    • Thanks for the comments and visit. I don’t often find myself trying to revisit the past but I suppose that it would make some good writing fodder to come up with something

      October 14, 2011 at 11:01 PM

  4. Pingback: 74 (More) Links for Photography Junkies | TheWorld365 | Nuno & Debora Photography

  5. Pingback: 74 (More) Links for Photography Junkies » Beauty life

  6. Pingback: Mike Victorino Photography

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

