Time Flies

On March 28, 2010, and after much consideration, this blog once again became a reality. I had, prior to this blog, another WordPress blog of the same title but I wasn’t really happy with the way it was taking shape.   I was also not happy with the amount of work I was putting into it versus the amount of traffic I was receiving.  Inevitably, I sat down and decided that a blog was certainly in order and that I was thinking incorrectly about it to begin with.   So with the advent of this newest incarnation of The Blog, I was going to be more selective about what I put into it, save my galleries for my photography web site and most importantly, stop putting a priority on and thus, worrying about how much traffic I was getting.

Time has certainly flown by the last six months and I thought I would do a little recap on what has happened here at The Blog during that time.

Since March 23rd I have posted 153 times in 11 categories and with 464 tags.   There have been 346 comments, 74 spam comments nuked and content from this blog has been shared (Via Twitter, Facebook etc...) 87 times.

The Blog has had 7,406 individual visitors during that time and the busiest day was April 1st (no foolin‘) with 1,368 visits on that day thanks to a retweet by Light Stalking over at Twitter.  The top three referrers to The Blog were Twitter, Light Stalking and Facebook. (The difference between referrals from Twitter and Light Stalking was only one.

The post with the highest amount of views was “Montage“.  There was another post that was viewed many times more than Montage but this post was deleted and for the life of me, I don’t remember how or why.  (Live and learn)   I have found that tutorial posts are generally quite valuable to people.

The top three search terms used by people to find their way here are (1) victorino photography, (2) mike victorino photography and (3) Bayview, Idaho.   I kind of laughed a little when I saw the difference in the third term because it matches the other two so well. 😀   I checked though and in a google search using the term “bayview idaho”,  The Blog is #12 on that list because of this post.

Once people arrive, the top two clicks are Light Stalking and All City.    I’ve already spoken over and over again of my love for Light Stalking so I won’t go into it more here.  All City is a photography blog based on and in the San Francisco Bay Area by photographers Travis Jensen, Stuart Dixon, Brad Evans and Bob Horowitz.   If you want to see every aspect of San Francisco, take a look at the work of these talented folks.

The top three commenters are The Toads over at Toad Hollow Photography, Tim McMurdo from Ephemeral Life and Renee Stewart Jackson from Jacart Gallery.

My favorite post so far is “Maybe It’s About Time“.  It wasn’t about the image that I shot that led to the post (although I really like it) and it was less about what I was saying in the post.  It was the underlying message that was important to me.   This post was about taking chances, doing something different and more importantly, raising the bar on my abilities, imagination and creativity.

This still remains one of my favorite images from this year.

I can’t wait to see what the next six months hold in store for me.

Thanks to all of you who have visited and who continue to do so.  You make it all worthwhile!

4 responses

  1. It has been my pleasure to watch as your eye evolves and take shape in your own individual style ! ~ Renee

    October 13, 2011 at 1:53 PM

    • Mike

      Thanks Renee. You have been such an inspiration to me and I thank you for your advice, tutelage and your friendship!

      October 13, 2011 at 1:59 PM

  2. Well done Mike. Terrific post and your images are awesome.

    October 14, 2011 at 8:04 AM

    • Mike

      Thanks Edith!

      October 14, 2011 at 11:01 PM

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

