Weekly Photo Challenge: Sunset

I saw this come across my reader today and I thought to myself, “How anti-climactic!  I’m going to post yet another sunset.”   Well I certainly must be a psychic or mind reader or maybe just lucky because after all, the last three posts that I have done have all included a sunset.

Contemplation
New Format
Dose of Reality – A Haiku

With that in mind, I almost just took a pass on this one but there was something in me that just wouldn’t allow me to sit by idly and let a chance to bring out an original pass me by.   The image that I have chosen for this weeks challenge was one of the very first images that I captured after buying my Canon SX10IS  just a little over two years ago – and it got me hooked!!   Talk about being in the right place at the right time!

Let me introduce you to Schweitzer Mountain and the Pack River Delta in the spring time.

25 responses

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sunset « Blog Archive « Snapshots of the World

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sunset (1) | melonpopzdropz …

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sunset « aRVee's blog

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sunset (2) | melonpopzdropz …

  5. MIke, this is fantastic. You are really beginning to master the water reflections at twilight. Great job.

    October 1, 2011 at 12:38 AM

    • Mike

      What I love about this one the most Tim (besides it being one of the first) is that if you turn it upside down, the image is pretty much the same!

      October 1, 2011 at 10:10 AM

  6. Beautiful color and reflection!

    October 1, 2011 at 4:07 AM

    • Mike

      Thanks Ruth!

      October 1, 2011 at 10:10 AM

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sunset | I Choose Happy Now

  8. Hi Mike. I get realy annoyed with myself when I take a sunset photo. Its like a drinker having another shot or a smoker taking another drag. Or even a gambler shoving one more coin into the slot. The next one will be the winner, or taste better than yesterday’s or not kill us. I bless the day when we don’t have all that colour and serenity and reflections and warm tones and blue afterwards. I will ofen turn my back on the setting sun just to deny it that beauty it possesses. But even when I lock myself in the dungeon I find myself seeking out a crack in the wall where I can take one more peek.
    Now that you’ve shown me yours I’ll just have to go out for another dose. I there an SSA?

    October 3, 2011 at 12:20 AM

    • Mike

      What a wonderful way to describe the feeling that a sunset gives. It is for certain Tom that it is an intoxicating event. I’m not certain that there could ever be an SSA for sunsets since there are way too many ways in which to portray them. However, if you find one, please let me know…..not that I will attend, I just want to know! 😀

      I always figured you for a “show me yours and I’ll show you mine” kinda guy!!

      October 4, 2011 at 9:02 PM

      • I’ll bring my macro

        October 8, 2011 at 11:19 PM

      • Mike

        HA HA HA HA. You’ll need i!!

        October 12, 2011 at 2:13 PM

  9. My first time here. Awesome blog and super post. Well done.

    October 4, 2011 at 10:37 AM

    • Mike

      Thanks for the visit and your kind comments. Feel free to come back anytime! 😀

      October 6, 2011 at 1:00 PM

  10. Wonderful photo, Mike, I just love the reflections and colors you’ve captured here!!

    October 5, 2011 at 10:24 AM

    • Mike

      Thanks Toad. You are always very kind with your praise

      October 6, 2011 at 1:00 PM

      • Toads do that. Especially Canadian ones.

        October 19, 2011 at 3:15 AM

  11. Pingback: WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Sunset - An Italian Umbrian Sunset | ichoosehappynow.com

  12. Pingback: 88 Photography-Junkie Links From The Last 7 Days | TheWorld365 | Nuno & Debora Photography

  13. Those are some sweet colors in this shot. Nice one.

    October 7, 2011 at 8:32 PM

    • Mike

      Thanks for the visit and your comments!

      October 7, 2011 at 8:33 PM

  14. Just stumbled across this site but I’m liking it already!

    October 13, 2011 at 4:19 AM

    • Mike

      Awesome! Thanks for the visit and your kind comments!

      October 13, 2011 at 1:28 PM

  15. Pingback: Another Year Gone By « Mike Victorino Photography ~ The Blog

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

