Root Cellar

Sometime back, I took a couple of shots and converted them to a brownish monochrome styling that I found rather appealing; depending of course on what it was that was being converted.  I found the finish to give the shot an “old time” feel to it.  One was on railroad tracks in Orofino, Idaho and the other was simply a church window that when converted, took on an entirely different feel.

I found several others that I wanted to try and convert.  This was one of them.  I’m not certain what this was but if I were to guess (and as you know, I have absolutely no issues with guessing), I imagine this to be the remnant of an old root cellar; one that at one point in time was full of vegetables, preserved fruits and large burlap sacks of flour and sugar.  It contained everything one would need to get through a North Idaho Winter.   Of course, there was likely a few jugs of hooch in there as well!

2 responses

  1. Annnnnd, did you check to see if any hooch remained? Do you still have satellite coordinates to this place there, Mike? We might need to do a road-trip. LOL What a great shot! I love the old school look and feel here, very complimentary to the subject at hand!

    August 19, 2011 at 12:47 PM

    • I remember how to get there. AND, I brought my own….just in case!! Thanks for your visit and comments here today Toad!!

      August 19, 2011 at 2:09 PM

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

