Tributary

I finally got to download the shots that I took on my last trip.  I mentioned it in passing before.  There are several shots from this series that turned out rather interesting.   This one really grabbed my attention.   It is a one second exposure of a river’s tributary taken at ground level.

In order to take this shot, I was in the middle of this flow lying face down across two very large and very sharp boulders (which incidentally were also not touching each other) holding the camera in my hands, elbows in , trying to get the camera locked in.   I was doing my best to hold my breath for the duration of the shot while attempting to not wince as the jagged edges of the rocks dug into my ribs and thighs.

I am quite satisfied with the results that I was able to achieve.  However; next time, I think I’ll just set up a tripod and get wet!

5 responses

  1. MIke, thank you for going the extra mile in getting this image in the can. The big rock in the foreground, the golden light in the back ground and the water in between all combine to make a very interesting image. The golden light grabs my eye. NIce, really nice.

    July 26, 2011 at 3:14 AM

    • Thanks Tim. I really appreciate your input

      July 26, 2011 at 10:23 AM

  2. Totally awesome shot here, Mike, I love it! I really like your framing and perspective on this one; great image my friend!

    July 26, 2011 at 12:13 PM

    • Thanks Toad. I think it was worth the effort but like I said, next time, I think I’ll just wear shorts

      July 26, 2011 at 10:56 PM

  3. Pingback: Sometimes It Takes A Second Trip | Mike Victorino Photography

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

