Looking For Some Feedback

I was going through some shots I took of the inside of a church this past week.    There was one that the color just grabbed and enthralled me when I saw it, when I shot it and when I processed it.    I took a page from my friend Tim McMurdo and took it a step further and applied a radiant blur to the stained glass in the picture. So I’m interested in hearing what you have to say.

What do you think of the effect generally and/or it’s application in this setting? This shot?
Why do you feel one way or the other?
What would you do to improve on the shot?

Before

After

5 responses

  1. Well “after” is slightly better. Normally I like photos as they are in real life, not made by some photo processing system. This church seems to be very easy to photograph, because there is enough light.

    In my country I have been photographing more from 380 churches and in many cases light is missing. Then I have to use ISO 3200, because I avoid using flash.

    Here are some example of my photos from our wooden churches:

    http://sartenada.wordpress.com/category/churches-wooden/

    Happy blogging, Sir.

    July 19, 2011 at 11:47 PM

  2. I prefer the depth and detail in the original and the color of the front pews. ‘After’ appears flat and washed out, as if your settings were not corrected for the strong incoming light. There is nothing of interest in the ceiling, other than to show height. I would crop this to just above the left window, almost square. A light hand in coloration work on window left. The light from it is stronger, as seen in the room, so it’s color must not be a clone of the right window.
    The brightness in the ‘After’ is appealing though, perhaps too bright. If it were toned down, you may reach a happy medium ! Good luck !
    Renee

    July 20, 2011 at 12:50 AM

  3. Tami

    I like the dark colors of the first photo, but I really love the way you can see the rays of sun shining through in the second. Beautiful either way Mike!

    July 20, 2011 at 7:22 AM

  4. Usually I have a hard time picking, but to be perfectly honest on this one Mike I prefer the before shot, it just looks a touch more real to me. You had a great subject here to shoot, and honestly the second shot is stellar too, it’s just a slight tip for my taste towards liking the first one a tad more… great work, I really love this shot!

    July 20, 2011 at 11:13 AM

  5. Thank you all for your comments and input. I prefer the original but I thought I would try and at least add a little bling to it but to see what would happen When I post my series, I will be posting the original. When I frame a shot to give to the church in appreciation for allowing me in to shoot, I will likely frame the second……maybe. 😀

    July 20, 2011 at 9:20 PM

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

