Perspective

Some time back there was a conversation at Light Stalking on visualization.   This was the post subject that made me really start taking a look at what I was shooting and more importantly how I was shooting it.   When I go out and shoot, I often take my three year old son out with me and I hand him a point and shoot and let him go to town.  At roughly the same time this thread discussion emerged, I had sat down to download the shots that he had taken and I was simply amazed; and it wasn’t the quality of the shots that did it.    He naturally was using (I’m gonna say it) rules and his shots were very well framed.  What amazed me most was his perspective and that he could take a shot of something that I wouldn’t even give a second glance to and make it look really good.

After he broke my last point and shoot, I went out and for Easter, bought him a little 7.1 megapixel Vivitar point and shoot and he loves it.   It’s really funny to watch him when he sees me getting my gear out and setting it up.    This is how our conversation normally goes.

“Daddy, have my camera?”
“Yeah buddy, I have your camera”
“I wan hole it”
“Okay, here you go”

Then we load up into the truck and head out to wherever it is we’re going for the day.   I may have to do a new series here called “A View From The Car Seat” or something like that because he sits in the back seat and just clicks away while I’m driving down the road and sometimes, he gets some really good stuff.

The other day I downloaded his camera and recovered these gems and I am quite honestly, in awe.

Oh yeah; did I mention that he was three?

So I offer this advice to you.  If you want a lesson in perspective and how to look at things with completely new eyes, give a  young child a camera and let them go crazy.   Sure, you’re going to delete a lot of shots that are blurred, backwards or have fingers and toes in them but I guarantee this, you will never look at the world the same way again.

3 responses

  1. Ahhh…the eyes of a child where everything is new and ripe for exploration !

    July 16, 2011 at 10:27 PM

    • I “WISH” I could see through his eyes!! I suppose in some ways I can. I get a great amount of enjoyment just watching him explore!

      July 17, 2011 at 9:02 PM

  2. Pingback: View From The Car Seat (Installment 1) « Mike Victorino Photography

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

