Panning

One of the things that I started playing with some time ago was panning.    There is a great tutorial that you can read about panning at Lightstalking right here.    I am finding that the more I practice, the better my shots are coming out.   Today, I  was out in the front yard playing around and took a few shots of cars driving by.

What’s even cooler than getting a good panning shot is when the occupants of the car get involved in the process

And even more so when they interact with you like this guy flashing me the “peace sign”

For a day that I didn’t really plan on shooting anything, today turned out pretty darn good.

4 responses

  1. Peace sign? All these years and I didn’t know what they meant when they gave me the finger. Now I feel special.
    MIke, I have little experience panning & the whole technique feels a little daunting. Any tips that could help us newbies?

    July 14, 2011 at 8:45 AM

    • Thanks Tim. I had no idea he was holding up a peace sign either until I went back later and looked at it. 😀 I even had a guy on a bike ride by and say, “shoot me”.

      What I have done for my panning shots for practice is shoot things at slower speeds (35 mph or less). I manually focus to the area where I’ll be depressing the shutter and I shoot in the shutter priority mode starting at 1/60 and adjust depending on the results. 1/60 seems to work well for me but I have gone as far down as 1/15 before; although I now don’t recommend it. Too slow of a speed and everything is blurred (including your subject) and too fast of a speed and you freeze everything.

      The actual panning is what take the most practice. Keeping your subject in the middle of the viewfinder is not as easy as it seems.

      July 14, 2011 at 9:15 AM

  2. Awesome awesome awesome blog post today! I keep meaning to try this myself and you have given me some great ideas and some FABULOUS examples Mike! Love your blog, my friend!

    July 14, 2011 at 11:19 AM

    • Definitely go out and try it. I never thought I would do any good at it but the more I have went out and practiced, the better they have become. I need to practice as well. This August, I am going to be shooting the rodeo here and I want to try and get some panning shots of the bull riders. That’s gonna be some up close and personal panning and should prove interesting. So not only am I practicing, I’m doing wind sprints too! 😀

      July 14, 2011 at 12:41 PM

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

