Little Church In The Wildwood

On one of my many trips into the wilderness and at a time when I was seeking out small town life to shoot, I was not prepared for what I found.   I think that I have passed through this section of road twice before and not once, have I ever really noticed what is in the middle of this 90 degree turn on a two lane blacktop 15 miles from nowhere.

This is The Little Church In The Wildwood.

This is definitely an “old time” church which contains in its single room, a pulpit and three pews. It has a front and rear entrance along with a dirt parking lot to the east that on it’s best day, might hold about eight or nine cars.    For all of its rustic appeal, there are two modern necessities which have been nicely fitted into the scheme; mail delivery and access for disabled persons.

However, it is still heated by wood.

The Little Church In The Wildwood also has a local cemetery, Gamlin Lake Cemetery attached to it.   This is something that is not seen much anymore (at least by me) and it is for certain that it adds to the appeal of this church.

I spent the better part of an hour walking around and simply admiring this small church out in the middle of nowhere.

What I found is that God is certainly present in this modest and unassuming place.

5 responses

  1. Mike, thank you for showing us these images. The light reflected in the window is outstanding. I really enjoy looking at your discoveries. Keep them coming.

    July 10, 2011 at 3:01 AM

    • Mike

      Thanks Tim.

      July 10, 2011 at 10:17 AM

  2. Mo Dube

    Super impressed, Mike ! I so enjoy how you see the world around you.

    July 14, 2011 at 8:54 AM

    • Mike

      Thanks Mo. I wish I could take credit for it all. Like Tim said in one of his responses, “it takes a community to grow a photographer”. Were it not for all of you, I would not even be close to where I am now.

      So thank you!!

      July 14, 2011 at 9:19 AM

  3. Pingback: View From The Car Seat (Installment 5) | Mike Victorino Photography

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

