Not Really Prepared For This

This past Friday, I was out taking some shots for my next series on small towns.  My shooting trip took me up a forest service road along a creek (and I use the word “creek” lightly with as much rain as we’ve had this year).   Well to make a long story short, I was taking some extended exposure shots of the water.   I was using aperture priority and had my camera set at  f/11 to take longer exposures in the shaded areas.   Then, out walks this grizzly bear no more than 50 yards away from me.    Talk about having the wrong settings on you camera for the moment!!     I started moving in and he got a whiff of my scent on the breeze, lurched and was gone back into the tree line.   I managed to get this shot off just as he moved to head back to safety.  Although I wish that I had a clearer image of the bear, I am not dissatisfied that it looks as if he was in motion because he really was.   I supposed that I should be thankful that he ran back into the trees instead of toward me.

5 responses

  1. Being a midwestern city boy, I would have dropped my camera and run the other way. I think it is amazing that you got any kind of image at all.

    June 27, 2011 at 10:39 AM

    • I’d be glad to pick up your litter, Tim !

      June 27, 2011 at 1:15 PM

    • Mike

      Me too Tim. Cause then I’d have some bear sausage to go along with the new gear! 🙂

      June 27, 2011 at 1:57 PM

  2. He must have already had someone for breakfast !
    Nice that you were able to get this shot !

    June 27, 2011 at 1:14 PM

    • Mike

      Hmm. Nobody reported missing that day.
      I was shall we say: “lucky”.

      June 27, 2011 at 1:59 PM

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

