To Mark Or Not To Mark

Question of the day.

Do you watermark your photos on line?    If so, why?    I have been marking mine but I sometimes wonder if it’s even worth the trouble.   If someone wants a picture that is on line, they’re gonna get it and I’m sure if they have the know how to get a photo, even one that is locked; they can also most likely do away with a watermark.   On the other hand, a simple watermark could direct people to your site.   I am interested in your thoughts on this.

The second thing that I am wondering today about posting photos on line is this.   I have heard some say to post low quality .jpg files when posting on the internet.   That way there is not enough resolution to do anything useful with the photo.   I have tried this on several occasions and I often times think that the process of making the photographs “not useful” also makes them “not useful” (read as worthless) worthless for viewing.   What do you think?

See what happens when I have a little time on my hands?

2 responses

  1. tom dinning

    Rarely, Mike. Can’t be bothered really. I do reduce the quality to 72ppi and about 600×600 p
    That usually results in a compromise between reasonable viewing quality and stealability.
    The main reason is most people don’t have the patience to wait for a big file to download; me included. I don’t have enough time left to wait around for a huge file to load only to find out it has a great big watermark over it and its not worth stealing. I’ve got to get my good pictures from somewhere.

    May 2, 2011 at 12:08 AM

    • Thanks for chiming in Tom. I have been reducing my jpg images to low quality before putting them onto the net but sometimes I see so much pixelation in them, it is even a turn off for me. Perhaps I’ll try a smaller size. I’ve been putting them in at a max of 700 (either width or height). Perhaps I should go smaller and that would alleviate the problem?

      I’m with you on one thing, if a picture takes forever to load, it’s likely I’m not gonna hang around long enough to view it.

      May 2, 2011 at 12:29 AM

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

