I’m Back

The last month or so has been a whirlwind of activity here; most of which has kept me away from the computer and my camera equipment as well.    In the end though, it all worked out well for me and I have decided to remain in my career and stick it out ’til the end.      The last week and half was awesome.    On Sunday the 15th, I flew to San Jose, California and purchased this.

I had the opportunity to have a really great visit with one of my oldest and best friends and his family which was worth the trip all by itself. Thanks Dave and Pam for your hospitality and ongoing friendship! On Monday morning, I got to spend a little bit of time with my Dad and he introduced me to the Black Bear Diner. If you haven’t had the opportunity to eat there, make one. You won’t regret it.    After breakfast and a little more visiting time, I hit the road headed for Gilroy and from there, went over Hecker Pass into Watsonville.     I jumped on the coast highway and headed north to San Francisco.    It was overcast, cold and windy that day but the exhilaration of breathing salt air again kept me very warm.   I stopped in Morro Bay for about a half hour and just listened to the sound of the ocean.   I almost decided to grab a surf board because the sets were tremendous; breaking from center in both directions equally, fairly smooth nd about 7 to 8 feet tall.   Self control got the better of me though and I remembered that it was pretty cold to begin with.    I continued my trip north through San Francisco and around the Great Highway, across the Golden Gate Bridge and then into the traffic….UGH!   I finally stopped at Cloverdale for the  night.

Note:  If you ever find yourself staying in Cloverdale, California, take the time to find and visit the Railroad Station Bar and Grill.   The food there is TREMENDOUS!

It was my original plan to go all the way up the coast to Seaside Oregon but when I woke up on day two and checked the weather, they were calling for three days of rain on the coast.  Now, I don’t object to riding in the rain, it’s just that the whole purpose of traveling up the coast is to stop and do stuff and see things.   The rain kind of puts that idea to rest.    So I found 175, a little two lane curvy road that heads east from the 101 toward Clear Lake.    This road starts flat and winds its way through some lovely vineyards before heading into the hills.

By early afternoon, I found myself driving by Mount Shasta.   Although covered by clouds mostly, this is still one of the most majestic and beautiful mountains around.

I finished out the day in Bend Oregon. I stayed at the Shilo Inn there. I wasn’t really going to mention it but the restaurant on site served some baby back ribs to die for. Just a little info in case you ever find yourself in Bend.

Day three was all trucking to get back home at a decent hour. I stopped in Goldendale, Washington and had lunch with an old friend and it was right back to it. Unfortunately, the middle of Washington is mostly boring and hot.   This of course, did not effect my enjoyment of the trip at all.  At about 8:00 PM, 1200 miles later, I got home.  I can tell you that it’s been awhile since I slept that good.

I’m looking forward to all of the opportunities that I will have to photograph the many places and activities that will be afforded me by being on the bike during my travels.  Should prove interesting!

10 responses

  1. Woo hoo !!!
    Nice hog ! Nice trip and pics ! Heck of a lot easier to pull over, park and get the shot than in a car ! All the best on your new adventures, you two !

    you two !

    July 25, 2012 at 4:12 PM

    • Renee. I spoke with my bike and she told me to tell you thanks!! :)

      August 1, 2012 at 3:42 AM

  2. Welcome back Mike. Sounds like quite the adventure. Great shots too.

    July 25, 2012 at 5:57 PM

    • Thanks Edith. It turned out to be a nice trip; even though I had to reroute it away from the coast.

      August 1, 2012 at 3:42 AM

  3. Good to see you back. Safe travels. Going to be some wonderful photos to follow.

    July 25, 2012 at 9:15 PM

    • Hi Ruth. I have been scouting some amazing new locations that I did not know about before. It’s gonna be fun!

      August 1, 2012 at 3:43 AM

  4. Point that gorgeous unit north, and come ride to see us!!! What a hot bike there, Mike! I need help convincing Mrs. Toad I need me one of these babies… so far she ain’t biting. So happy to see you back again, and full of great adventures to share!

    July 26, 2012 at 2:38 PM

    • That may just be in the cards before the end of the fall. Many more adventures to come. Thanks for the visit!

      August 1, 2012 at 3:44 AM

      • That would honestly be a total highlight of my entire year, Mike! :)

        August 3, 2012 at 3:30 PM

  5. and I’m slacking……:(

    August 1, 2012 at 3:39 AM

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers