Another Look At Trestle Creek

WHEN I POSTED MY IMAGE OF Trestle Creek a couple of days ago, I also posted the same image on my Facebook Page and also at my web site.   A great friend of mine wrote me a very complimentary email on the image and asked my permission for her to give me “her take” on the image.    What she did was introduce me to the Orton Effect.  I was not familiar with this process but after seeing it for the first time, I immediately fell in love with it.    I think that this is going to work very well with my long exposures; especially my creek-side images.    Over the next two to three weeks, I’ll be going back, doing some conversions and putting them here for your input.   For now, take a look at the original as compared to the conversion and please – let me know what you think.

Original Image

Orton Effect Conversion

Please pay my friend Renee Stewart Jackson a visit at jacartgallery.com

9 responses

  1. I think the conversion enhances the image. I wasn’t familiar with the Orton Effect, I must research this!

    June 25, 2012 at 12:06 AM

    • Thanks Graham. In a nutshell, it involves taking two different views of the exact same subject; one very sharp and one out of focus and combining them into one image to give it sort of a dreamlike feeling to it.

      There were several different methods that I attempted in order to get a feel than I liked and there are a few photoshop plug-in filters that come pretty close. I’m probably going to be doing a tutorial on this some time in the near future.

      June 25, 2012 at 12:09 AM

  2. Honestly Mike I prefer the original. There’s more detail in the trees and the log laying across the creek isn’t blown out as it is with the Orton Effect. I am familiar with the Orton effect but in this case your original image is still a winner.

    June 25, 2012 at 6:52 AM

    • Thanks for your input Edith. I am torn. I also prefer the original but there are aspects of both that I really like. My favorite part of the Orton is how it makes the water glow!!

      June 25, 2012 at 11:23 AM

  3. Very nice for your 1st Orton Mike !
    Ever seen an over cooked HDR ? Orton can be over cooked too. Not that you burned yours, LOL ! I believe it’s everyone’s inclination with something new.
    Try to retain some sharpness, especially in the focal points of interest. You can do selective sharpen in PS. The more you work with Orton, or anything else for that matter, the more your eye will be trained to see when it’s cooked to perfection !

    June 25, 2012 at 4:12 PM

    • Thanks Renee. I tried several different methods before finally deciding on this one. It’s for certain that there is ALWAYS room to improve everywhere!

      June 28, 2012 at 1:36 AM

  4. Nice work here. I like that effect but it has only found mybe one or two applications in my image. Nice work on yours.

    June 27, 2012 at 10:20 AM

    • Thanks Aaron. I’ll be taking a look at using this a little more liberally depending on the lighting and conditions. For some of the places I go shoot, it is a welcome change

      June 28, 2012 at 1:37 AM

  5. Pingback: From Out Of A Dream « Mike Victorino Photography

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers