No Image Today

WHAT I HAVE BEEN DREADING FOR SOME TIME has now come to pass.   Yesterday about mid-day, my laptop pretty much crashed so it was necessary for me to wipe and reformat the drive.   So I have been working for the last day or so getting everything back up and running.   No new pics today…sorry!   Fortunately, I had just backed up all of my pictures and documents so those survived the tempest.   Unfortunately, all of the processing software that I was using is history and since I (ahem) borrowed it, there was no recovery.    Photoshop Elements 6 came preloaded so I had that.   However, not wanting to move backward in time, I opted to download the free 30-day trial of Photoshop Elements 10 in anticipation that I was likely going to get that one anyway.     I will be spending the next couple of weeks learning how to use that.   I find that it’s generally the same, maybe a little easier to navigate but it does process RAW and does have the ability to layer mask; both of which I will be exploring in depth.

Perhaps its time for a  MAC!

I will be doing a review of the program at the end of my 30 days.
If you’re interested, you can download the 30 day trial of PSE 10.

6 responses

  1. myallegro31

    Oh man, that blows! Get a MAC!!! I love mine. Editing photos on a huge 27 inch screen rocks.

    May 9, 2012 at 4:11 AM

    • I bet that does rock. and for me, it would be a relief since my eyes “aren’t so good anymore”. :D Perhaps before the end of summer! I know I wouldn’t have any of the issues that I have now with a MAC. I think its a “change resiliency” thing!

      May 9, 2012 at 1:23 PM

  2. Glad you had all your images backed up Mike. I use PS 10 and it was a terrific upgrade from previous versions. I think you’ll like it.

    May 9, 2012 at 5:36 AM

    • So far I like it Edith. It’s similar enough where there’s no learning curve but way more functional. I still need to study up on the layer mask function and play with the RAW processors.

      May 9, 2012 at 1:24 PM

  3. Have you looked into the new LR4? Sorry to hear about that man :(

    May 9, 2012 at 8:59 AM

    • Thanks Aaron. Fortunately, all is right with the world again! I was looking at Lightroom 4 this morning and I think that might be something I look at after switching to a MAC

      May 9, 2012 at 1:25 PM

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers