At A Subconscious Level

FOR THE LONGEST TIME, I HAVE STARED at this image wondering what about it appealed to me.    Was it because it is a darker image?   I certainly like dark images.  Was it because the depth of field is shallow or that the color was so rich?   Those are both appealing to my eye.   My draw to this image goes deeper than that and I cannot just yet put my finger on why.   I suppose it’s time for some meditation on this subject.

Has there ever been an image that appealed to you at a level you couldn’t understand?

5 responses

  1. It think it’s the Lord of the Rings inspired look Mike. It’s a cool image. There are I
    Ages that I’ve taken that I just love but don’t be essarily appeal to others and then there are images Gary I’ve taken that I’m not to happy with that others love. I guess that’s why art is so subjective.

    April 17, 2012 at 8:49 AM

    • I know what you mean Edith. I have had others give great reviews on images that I thought belonged in the recycle bin (or further) :D I still can’t quite put my finger on it.

      April 18, 2012 at 2:29 AM

  2. laz

    I have had that same thing happen, were I photograph something that just calls my attention yet is not something I might photograph! This image is definetly me! Love nature, exposed roots and it looks very Fairy land type! Great Image!!

    April 17, 2012 at 7:42 PM

    • Thanks Laz. I really do love this image; I just can’t say why. Guess, I’ll have to print it, frame it and hang it in my house to spend the next few years trying to figure it out.

      April 18, 2012 at 2:31 AM

  3. The lines really pull you into this, Mike. Have a great weekend!

    April 21, 2012 at 2:39 AM

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers