Winter Sunset

IT’S NOT VERY OFTEN ANYMORE THAT I GET TO post an image that I just got done taking and processing.  This one couldn’t wait.   Yesterday just after sunset, I went to Coeur d’Alene and as I left Sandpoint onto the Long Bridge, I was amazed at the colors in the sky as blue hour took over.  Due to time constraints and priorities, I wasn’t able to stop and get a few shots.  I have to admit that I was a little bit miffed about it too.   I have found that although I like the golden hour for light and I like to shoot a sunset every once in awhile, the good times really begin after the sun is gone from the sky.  It is at those times where there is barely any light left on the horizon that are the most magical; at least that’s the way it is in my universe.

So undeterred, I went back out tonight and although the colors weren’t as spectacular, they were pretty awesome and made for a very nice reflection of color off of the lake ice (which although is at least a month late, is finally starting to form)

14 responses

  1. Yusuf

    Nice shoot!! Awsome colours:)

    January 13, 2012 at 4:02 AM

    • Mike

      Yusuf. Thanks for the visit and your kind comments. I appreciate it very much!

      January 17, 2012 at 2:02 PM

  2. Beautiful blues man.

    January 13, 2012 at 4:30 PM

    • Mike

      Thanks Aaron.

      January 17, 2012 at 2:02 PM

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Peaceful « Mike Victorino Photography ~ The Blog

  4. Beautiful shot Mike.

    January 15, 2012 at 10:20 PM

    • Mike

      Thanks Edith. I surely appreciate your visits and support.

      January 17, 2012 at 2:03 PM

  5. I love this shot, Mike, love it a lot! GREAT colors in the sky there!

    January 16, 2012 at 5:11 PM

    • Mike

      Thanks my friend. I paid for taking it though. It as about 10 degrees out on the ice that night and I waited for about 45 minutes to take this shot. Can you say “flu bug”? Totally worth it though. Thanks for your continued visits and support. It is very much appreciated.

      January 17, 2012 at 2:05 PM

  6. Great shot, Mike. Really beautiful light and colours.

    January 17, 2012 at 4:53 PM

    • Mike

      Thank you Graham!

      January 19, 2012 at 1:29 AM

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Link Roundup: The Coolest Of This Week

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Link Roundup: The Coolest Of This Week « « Gregory DeeseGregory Deese

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Link Roundup: The Coolest Of This Week –

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers