Sometimes The Light Falls Just Right

Today, my son and I took a hike on a trail that I have been up and down many times; with and without my camera.   Today, I brought it along and I was looking at the trail with new eyes.   There were times today that I would actually lay face down on the dirt trail to do nothing more than look to see what I could see.    I found one particular spot; a growth of Mountain Maple which just had to be shot.

Rocky Mountain Maple

Iluminated

The best thing about these shots, at least for me, is that these two shots were taken in broad daylight. This spot was mostly covered by shade. One sliver of light came through the tall trees and landed on this growth of Mountain Maple. It is so awesome to see something and then be able to really duplicate it through the camera.

Mountain Maple Closeup

Wrinkled

To paraphrase Aloha Lavina, today was kind of like golf;  these were the two shots that I made in 18 holes that are going to keep me coming back for more.

10 responses

  1. I really, really find this to be highly dramatic and emotional Mike! GREAT captures!!! And I love the accompanying blog post, as well. I totally get what you’re saying here and absolutely share your love of this subject in this light.

    July 8, 2011 at 11:25 AM

    • Mike

      Thanks Toad. I was absolutely astounded when I saw them come off of the camera exactly as I was seeing them. That short trip also gave me a little more gas to look in places that I have ordinarily not looked for shots.

      July 8, 2011 at 11:45 AM

  2. Pingback: More Falling Light « Mike Victorino Photography

  3. Mo Dube

    Very much enjoyed browsing your site today! Outstanding images (as always) and great job on the website !!!

    July 14, 2011 at 8:56 AM

    • Mike

      Thanks Mo!!

      July 14, 2011 at 9:19 AM

  4. Pingback: View From The Car Seat (Installment 1) « Mike Victorino Photography

  5. Pingback: Yet Even More On How Light Falls | Mike Victorino Photography

  6. Pingback: Branching Out | Mike Victorino Photography

  7. Pingback: Sliver « Mike Victorino Photography ~ The Blog

  8. Pingback: Waiting For The Light To Fall | Mike Victorino Photography

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers