Bayview Idaho

Bayview Idaho is a small town situated at the very east end of Highway 54 in the Idaho Panhandle.  It is a marina town with a population of approximately 300 people and sits on the very south tip of Lake Pend Oreille.    It is also the home of Farragut State Park which was once the Farragut Naval Training Center and the Lake Pend Oreille Acoustic Research  Detachment of the United States Navy.

On the way into Bayview, I passed through what is now Farragut State Park and found what is one of the very few remaining vestiges of what was the Naval Training Center; Pumphouse No. 7.

I wasn’t sure how well I was going to do on this trip out with the camera.   The weather was hit and miss.   I was, however, greeted by this view as I entered the town limits from on top of the hill.

 

Maybe this wasn’t going to be such a bad day after all.

There are several things about small towns that appeal to me and Bayview has all of them since it is actually incredibly small. The main street of the town has “everything” on it and on a Sunday afternoon, there is no one about.

And when you do find someone out and about in this small town, it’s great to know that it is a kid who has the entire street to himself AND isn’t afraid to play in it.

The absolute mark of the small town is the small town grocery store; or in the case of Bayview, the Mercantile. Where else do you see a store that is no bigger than most houses, owned by the people who live above the store, call it a Mercantile and still fly the National Flag from their building.

Let me answer that for you. Only in a small town.

This is the first part of  a series that I am doing on Small Town America.    Feel free to jump in with your thoughts, experiences, memories or suggestions.

6 responses

  1. I’ll bet that the Mercantile has a little of almost anything you could possibly need. I too like to visit small towns and have always been intrigued by the local one stop shop in town. Packed shelves, narrow isles and nice people. I’ve even been in a few that had a resident dog or cat.

    Nice images and wonderful narrative.

    Thanks Mike.

    June 24, 2011 at 8:34 AM

  2. I’d like to say right now that my thoughts are “this is incredible!!!!” Gosh, Mike, what a great blog post today to accompany some really top drawer images here. I can’t wait to follow along!

    June 24, 2011 at 11:38 AM

  3. Mike

    Thanks for your comments Tim and Toad. I am always reminded of my trips to my grandparent’s house. There was a little grocery store named “Lutes” there and it was my first stop upon arrival. We would each get twenty five cents which got us a pack of Juicy Fruit gum and a bottle of Coke. (Yep, that was when Coke still came in a bottle).

    June 24, 2011 at 1:42 PM

  4. Pingback: Clark Fork, Idaho « Mike Victorino Photography ~ The Blog

  5. Pingback: Time Flies | Mike Victorino Photography

  6. Pingback: Bonners Ferry Idaho « Mike Victorino Photography ~ The Blog

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers