Long Bridge Blues

I took a page tonight from Bob Horowitz at All City and for the very first time, especially since now I actually have the capability,  grabbed my camera and headed out at sunset to wait for the blue hour to set in.     This shot is 120 seconds at f/11, ISO 100.   Focal length is 18mm.     I learned one and remembered one very valuable lesson tonight.

What did I learn?

I need a remote switch.   I actually thought about this as I was driving to my destination and also considered stopping in for a rubber band and a #2 pencil (for the eraser).  In the end, I figured I might be able to pull it off and in retrospect, it really isn’t that bad considering I was holding the shutter release for two minutes.    That takes care of my bravado though; I’ll get a remote before I try it again.

What did I remember?

In North Idaho, you cannot stand on a bridge over a body of water with zero windbreak at the blue hour (even on May 1st) and not freeze your hind end off!   Just sayin……

7 responses

  1. Great composition, Mike !

    May 2, 2011 at 12:59 AM

    • Mike

      Thanks Renee. It seemed like a good spot to make my first attempt for this and it turned out well for me.

      May 2, 2011 at 6:35 PM

  2. Mike, you have done well. I like that you combined the blue hour with a long shot of the traffic on the bridge. The two have combined to make a really nice composition.

    May 2, 2011 at 6:04 AM

    • Mike

      Thanks Tim. What really amazed me about this was that for two minutes, only cars went by; not a single semi or even a pickup truck. I consider myself quite lucky in that respect…..well, all of it really!

      I am enjoying seeing what my new equipment will do. I have a lot more “ability” than I did with my old one.

      May 2, 2011 at 6:37 PM

  3. Pingback: Settling Down For The Day « Mike Victorino Photography

  4. That’s a great shot, Mike! Very difficult to pull off technically like you’ve done here, my friend!

    June 25, 2012 at 1:46 PM

    • Thanks so much Toad. That means a lot coming from you!!

      June 28, 2012 at 1:39 AM

Tell Us What You're Thinking?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers